The next time you send a message on Facebook, cue up the “Mission Impossible” theme because your post may self-destruct in 10 seconds!

That’s the thinking behind a new app that’s being tested. According to an inside source, it will allow Facebook users to send photos, videos, or messages, which will then self-destruct 10 seconds after being viewed. That way, if you send a private love letter – or racy photo – you won’t have to worry about it ending up in the wrong hands, and coming back to haunt you.

That’s the goal, anyway. Unfortunately, many experts are saying that this new Facebook app may give people a false sense of security. Because the technology involved is not foolproof. Because if someone is fast enough, they can take a “screenshot” of your photo or status update. And once someone has that, you’ll have no control over what they do with it.

That’s a problem, because psychologists worry that some teens will feel like they can take more risks - like sexting - because they think there won’t be any evidence afterwards. But the reality is that no matter what an app promises, information we post on the Internet is usually out there forever.

Just something to think about when Facebook starts saying our messages will self-destruct in 3-2-1.